The W.E.D.G.E.S.

The Welsh Entertainers Do-Gooders Golfing Enjoyment Society










Visit Our Sponsors:

Thursday - October 11th - Machynys

A view of the 9th green from the clubhouse

Kenny Morris and Richard Evans, contenders for Golfer of the Year, make their way up the 18th

Captain: Steve Kane
John Booth

President: Colin Price - Freeman of the 
Borough of Neath & Port Talbot 
Vice-President: John Edwards
Chairman: John Jackson
Vice-Chairman: Kenny Morris
Sectretary: Roger Parsons
Treasurer: Bob Webb
Handicap Sec: Frank Webb


Immediate Past Captain
Club Officers (above)
Dave Devreaux
Phil Elliott
Ken Gregory
Mark Roche
Rod Woodward

Max Boyce M.B.E.
Ruth Madoc
Sir Bryn Terfel C.B.E.
Sir Gareth Edwards C.B.E.

Honorary Professionals:
Ian Woosnam O.B.E.
Bradley Dredge
Past Captains:

Mike Thomas (2017)
Ian Webster (2016)
Paul Gregory (2015)
Adrian Gregory (2014)
Rod Woodward (2013)
Jimi Webb(2012)
Bob Webb (2011)
Frank Webb (2010)
Ken Gregory (2009)
Mark Roche (2008)
Colin Price (2007)
Kenny Morris (2006)
Mike Williams (2005)
John Edwards (2004)
Nicky Piper (2003)
Jeff Alvey (2002)
Kenny Morris (2001)
Phil Elliott (2000)
Wayne Michaels (1999) Mark Roche (1998) Roger Parsons (1997) Owen Money (1993-1996)


Our second visit to Machynys this year was the rescheduled championship day that was originally planned for Ashburnham. Not only was it the championship but also the decider for thw 'Golfer of the Year' alongside our normal stableford competition. We were fortunate with sone good weather enjoyed by the 39 members that took part.

The Stableford results were:

1st: Peter Walters - 34 pts
2nd: Anthony Hayward - 30 pts
3rd: Brian Lee - 29 pts

The Champioship result was:

Anthony Hayward - Gross 83

Best Nett:

Peter Walters - 78 Nett

Golfer of the Year:

1st: Clive Adams - 268 pts
2nd: Richard Evans - 265 pts

Anthony Hayward is The Wedges Champion 2018

Peter Walters wins the Best Nett trophy

Nearest the pin on the 17th was Anthony Hayward (Kevin Budge also had nearest the pin on 11th but had left before the presentation

Since it was the last game of the season, special thanks go to Sharon Morris for her hard work throughout the year




Peter Walters in first place in the stableford

Anthony Hayward took second place

Golfer of the Year trophy was won by Clive Adams

Runner up in Golfer of the Year was Richard Evans

Kenny Morris had left himself such a long putt on the 18th that he had difficulty seeing the hole